Green Party of the United States
Home Vote Results History Contacts Admin
 National Committee Voting


Proposal Details

Proposal ID173
ProposalSteering Committee election proposal 1 from PA
PresenterGreen Party of Pennsylvania
Floor ManagerGwendolyn Wages
Discussion08/29/2005 - 09/04/2005
Voting09/05/2005 - 09/11/2005
Presens Quorum32 0.6666
Consens Quorum56 0.6666 of Yes and No Votes


The purpose of this proposal is to allow the National Committee of the Green
Party of the United States to fill the current vacancy in the Steering
Committee by either affirming the certified results of the SC election
conducted in Tulsa or by choosing to amend the results of the SC election
conducted in Tulsa.

The election to fill four open seats in the Green Party of the United States
Steering Committee, conducted in Tulsa Oklahoma, originally resulted in the
election of three people, Pat LaMarche, Rebecca Rotzler, and Steve Kramer. One
seat remained unfilled because no additional candidates had been able to
reach the threshold of nineteen votes.

The results of this election were accepted and certified be the National
Committee. The three new Steering Committee members, along with Holly Hart the
new Secretary of the Green party joined the Steering Committee meeting on July
29, 2005. In accordance with the GPUS bylaws the Secretary initiated a special
election to fill the remaining vacancy. A call for nominations was sent out and
several people were nominated.

At the next Steering Committee conference call after the July 29, 2005
meeting “the elections team that tabulated the results of the SC elections in
Tulsa contacted the Steering Committee with the news that an error had been
made in the way the tabulation was conducted.

The team tabulated the votes using whole numbers, resulting in three co-chair
seats being filled and one left empty. However, in looking over GPUS bylaws,
Phil Huckelberry discovered that the bylaws specify tabulation using fractional
tranfers, not just whole numbers. A re-tabulation using the proper counting
method revealed that Tom Sevigny had actulaly won the fourth seat.”


The National Committee of the Green Party recognizes that the drop-threshold
utilized at the Annual National Meeting in Tulsa Oklahoma, for the Steering
Committee election, was not in compliance with the GPUS by-laws. Therefore the
National Committee amends the results of the Tulsa election, changing the drop-
threshold to 18.8 and recognizes Tom Sevigny of Connecticut as the final member
of the Steering Committee.


Contact: Jonah McAllister-Erickson ,


GPUS Bylaws:

Questions about this system?
Contact the Voting Admin.
The Green Party of the United States voting system is free software, licensed under the GNU General Public License (GPL).
You can download a copy here.
To independently verify a ranked choice vote, or for information about how that works, go to Jonathan Lundell's Voting Page and upload the ballot file from the ranked choice vote result page. JL's ranked choice module is licensed under an alternate free software license.
Green Party of the United States